opinions wanted

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

adkSara
C Guru

opinions wanted

Post by adkSara »

opinions wanted
by Adam
I'm a beginner wanting to get an open canoe. I've been looking at the Dagger Ovation and Rival, as well as the Viper by Mohawk. Any opinions as to the characteristics of these boats and their strong/weak points would be appreciated.
Thanks

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 2:52 PM

OC-1
by Bryant
I personally would go with the Esquif Detonater (the one under 10"long). Very stable, dry but quick and playful. Second choice is Phantom - not as stable but quick and dry. In a longer boat - Rival or Outrage are both good. You will learn to paddle and grown into the small boats very quickly.

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 5:02 PM

Outrage?
by Adam
Thanks for the help. I haven't heard of the Outrage though. Who makes it?

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 7:24 PM

Outrage
by Dave
Adam,
Dagger MADE the Outrage.

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 8:52 PM

MR
by Scott
Mad River, not Dagger. And they still make it :

http://www.madrivercanoe.com/whitewater.shtml#outrage

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 9:09 PM

Re: MR
by Dave
Yes you are correct. I was thinking of the Ovation. Sorry for the mis-leading information I typed what I was thinking and not what I ment to.

Posted on Dec 23, 2002, 11:58 AM

OC1
by Craig
the Mad River Outrage and Dagger Rival (discontinued) both make excellent beginner boats you shouldn't grow out of too quickly. Some boaters prefer a harder chine as they gain skills and the Dagger Ocoee, Pyranha Prelude and others fit that bill later. Happy Holidays! Craig

Posted on Dec 22, 2002, 9:14 PM

Open boat opinions
by Randy
I would say paddle anything, as much as you can, as a primary goal. The main goal is time on the water

Used boats are cool, you can buy and sell them, moving on with minimal financial hardship, as you discover what you like.