OC1 ankle blocks

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

mshelton
CBoats Addict

OC1 ankle blocks

Post by mshelton »

I'm fairly new to ww canoeing and am fine tuning the outfitting on my Esquif Nitro as I go. I recently installed ankle blocks, they are fairly high, 4", I'm 6'5" with a size 11 foot so I figured that I could grind them down if they weren't working for me. I used to not really use the foot pegs (Mohawk outfitting) because it was uncomfortable without the blocks, also my last boat didn't have any. My question is; Do the higher ankle blocks reduce stability? It was more comfortable but I wound up swimming in two spots that I probably shouldn't have swam in. Maybe it was just a bad day. How high are most ankle blocks and do most of you put the balls of your feet on the foot pegs so the bottom of your foot is perpendicular to the bottom of the boat and toes bent foward or do you keep your foot flatter sliding your toes under the pegs and kinda keep the bottom of the pegs on the balls of your feet? Thanks in advance for any help.
Space Canoe
C Guru

WELL, UUMMM......

Post by Space Canoe »