unusual conversion question

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

unusual conversion question

Post by sbroam »

Here's one for you - what sea kayaks would make good c-boat conversion candidates? In addition to the potential ignominy of being seen in a butt boat, I get nervous as a absolute beginner in conditions that would phase me not one iota in a proper boat. My kayak roll is sketchy at best, while my C-roll is pretty reliable. My kayak braces are darn near sissified, while my C-braces are pretty reliable (though some of my deeep low braces have been mistaken for rolls).

I've got a pretty nice sea kayak - one of those Greenland style Brit boats - but don't paddle it near often enough to be comfortable in it. And like your higher performance sea kayaks, it's a bit on the narrow side, which has skeered me off from trying it out C-style before now. Has anybody taken a wider rec-boat and set it up suitable for C-rolling? How about an outrigger canoe? I think Walden makes/made a rotomolded outrigger - not rollable, but you wouldn't need to.

Just thinkin' and trying to avoid work...

Scott
Craig Smerda
L'Edge Designer

Post by Craig Smerda »

Scott ....what is your intention for this boat?

Can you imagine getting an old-school "ender" in a sea kayak?.... now there's one for the video collection...
Mike W.
CBoats.net Staff

Post by Mike W. »

Hey Scott, I dont' know much about butt boats. The fast ones look kind of narrow for kneeling though :-? . A freind of mine has a Savage River solo outrigger canoe. It's 24' long, 13.5" wide, weighs 24lbs. & is pretty quick. http://www.savageriver.com/outrigger.html