Old, isolated C-1er needs to modernize.

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

eculp
C Boater

Old, isolated C-1er needs to modernize.

Post by eculp »

Reading these forums has made me realize how "out of touch" I really am. I've been paddling a C-1 for over 20 years but I've never paddled one out out of Mexico where we c-1ers have always been few and far between. I only know one other active c-1er. In fact I've done very little paddling in the US. I've onle done the different forks on the american and a couple of day trips on the different sections of the Merced, all in an oc-1 and that is it.

For some time now I've been wanting to change my image. With the new 2 meter long play boats on the rivers, I remind myself of an old, gray headed, retiree driveing to the post office in a 1969 cadillac to pick up a social security check in Carmel, California, every time that I start down river in my old Dagger Cascade with my gray hear and beard.

Since I'm completely out of touch, I would appreciate any recommendations for a more modern, agile, lighter and fun boat.

I am 6'4" tall, weight varies from 195-215 usually pretty close to 200. I have no idea what kind of paddler I am. (no reference point) Intermediate, I suppose. I'm almost 64, should that matter and wear a size 13 1/2 shoe. I usually paddle class 3-4 with the ocassional jump to something higher. I like to play. I like technical rivers, drops and creeks.