havin some boatin issues.........Any Help Please?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

bamaboater
Pain Boater

havin some boatin issues.........Any Help Please?

Post by bamaboater »

hello folks, hope all are well. I got a situation that needs some input from other canoe paddlers out there, since I'm the only one in my little paddling group that canoes.
I've been paddling oc1 for about 5 years in an ovation, which is my original oc. I felt pretty efficient in that boat and was comfortable in my skills and in the boat to run many of the LRC runs and creeks as well as other big rivers in the SE, like the Ocoee, Pigeon, etc. From my recollection, I don't think I've ever been in a situation where I was not up to the skill level to paddle whatever I was running, i.e. Johnnies Creek, in my ovation.
Now, fast forward to this fall and winter. I bought a Prelude from a guy this fall and have been giving it my all to paddle, but to what seems like no avail. I feel like I'm regressing instead of progressing. The prelude is completely different from my ovation, I understand that, but what is the deal. It feels like I'm going to dump in every turn or eddy grab I make and technical creek moves have become nearly impossible without the sketchy feeling of dumping. I did do some modification to the prelude, mainly boring out the bulkhead, I'm 6'4"/215lbs, to get my legs in it and also removed the footpegs, to get my big butt 13's tucked under my butt. My roll hasn't changed, so I feel comfortable in flat water, but the preludes straps have the buckles, which completely freak me out in whitewater, because of the "what if" factor of not getting up and not being able to find the buckle to exit. I'm not sure I haven't cleaned out the bulkhead enough to spread my knees out and get a better sense of balance, because I still feel topheavy.