Kaz or... anyone?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Alan B
Pain Boater

Kaz or... anyone?

Post by Alan B »

I just finished replacing vinyl gunwales with ash on my Ocoee. Forging ahead without asking first, I used brass screws. Overall the job went well but I broke off at least 6 screws while driving them home. I think I pre-drilled appropriate pilot holes. I knew brass was soft but thought it was a good choice. Should I replace them with stainless or some other choice?? ...before more break during paddling?
ezwater
C Maven

Post by ezwater »

I'd replace them with stainless. Hope you can get the broke-off screw ends out of the wood.
gumpy
C Maven

Post by gumpy »

Being a mechanic I can tell you that you can remove those busted screws (very carefully) with a left-hand drill bit of the appropriate diameter. just drill into the brass very slowly until the bit bites and backs out the screw. then replace with stainless. good luck.
Joe
sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by sbroam »

+1 on the SS. If you have to regunwale it, you'll be able to reuse the SS screws, the brass probably not (not hard enough to withstand the repeated use).
Louie

Post by Louie »

being a mechinic myself SS might have been a better choice but unless you just have a lot of time on your hands the brass will work and will look better. like the other guy said use a left hand drill bit to get the broke ones out. If you store the boat outside in relly cold weather and you loosen the screws up every winter you may want to change them out but if most are brass just replace the broke ones with other brass ones. what every you do don't go half and half that would look like a hogs butt sew up with a grape vine.
kaz
Millbrook Boats - CBoats.net Sponsor

Post by kaz »

Hey Alan,

SS is the way to go.

JK
openboater
c

Stainless...

Post by openboater »

for sure.
open boat, open mind
tennOC
Pain Boater