OC2 Questions

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

chriscanoe
Pain Boater

OC2 Questions

Post by chriscanoe »

I am looking for a OC2 to take my oldest daughter paddling in.
She is 8. This would need to be a whitewater boat. Any ideas, or recomendations?
She weighs 60lbs
I weigh 180
She has no paddeling experience.
I have been paddeling for 20 years.
Would be looking to do the Chestatee, Etowah, Chattahoochee, Cartercay, Amicalola Creek, Nantahala, And Chattooga sect 3.
PBR ME ASAP!!
Alan B
Pain Boater

Post by Alan B »

Look on the used boats... there is a Hydra Duet plastic C-2 in Knoxville TN for $200. I would highly recommend this boat for paddling with a youngster. My now 21 year old daughter started paddling at age 6 in our Duet, on class II+ and by 8 was running solid class III with me. It is very stable, obviously dry, the kid can reach the water much more easily than a conventional canoe with gunnels and they are sitting close enough that their weight is not much of a factor. You would feel like you are paddling solo with a little helper sitting in a rumble seat (except in front of you).
It's not the most elegant thing, performance wise on the river but you might even have fun paddling it with others and you will never out grow it entirely with your daughter. Can't beat the price!
Louie

Post by Louie »

I took an Encore and used a double ( not tripple saddel) and put it to where I was six inch back from where I would normally be. I always put the the saddle three inch back of the center line. Pscho and Chad won some tandom races in that boats and I was still usin it with my eight year old on the Ocoee till he went with with his own Teaureau.
PAC
CBoats.net Staff

Post by PAC »

I agree on "the pig" (Duet). 15'9" in lenght and 32" wide. The price is right too.