Boat/Outfitting question (OC2). Advice for a newbie? Please.

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

MrJack
c

Boat/Outfitting question (OC2). Advice for a newbie? Please.

Post by MrJack »

I just took a beginner OC2 Whitewater class. I had a great time. I am looking for a whitewater boat but they seem to be hard to find. I am going to continue searching the web. In the meantime, I have a 16' old town penobscot that I currently use on slow moving rivers.

My question is this... would it be worth putting some money into knee pads and floatation so my OC2 partner and I can continue to work on eddy turns, ferries, peel outs, strokes, etc. on class 2 rivers until I can buy a WW specific boat? I know the rocker on this boat is minimal (less than an inch). Can you even do eddy turns, ferries, etc. in this boat? I see myself always keeping the Penobscot to use for lakes, slow rivers, canoe camping, etc.

My budget is pretty limited as I am saving for a WW boat, but I was thinking it may be worth having the knee pads/floatation for the Penobscot anyway. In the future I may do some paddling and canoe camping on rivers that have some class 2 WW with long stretches of flat water.

If you recommend getting float bags, should I get a bow/stern set or just a center bag? And finally... what is the easiest effective way to secure the float bags? Is there a kit or something I should buy? I thought it would be nice to rig the floatation in a way that would be conducive to strapping down camping gear in the future (d-rings, etc).

I really appreciate your time and any advice you can give. Obviously I am new to this. Thanks!
ezwater
C Maven

Post by ezwater »

You can certainly do eddy turns and practice ferrying, etc., in a Penobscot, though you will have to be deliberate in your leans, and the boat will respond less readily.