Detonator or Ocoee?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Cheeks
CBoats Addict

Detonator or Ocoee?

Post by Cheeks »

OK, I have come to a crossroads in my whitewater life and am seeking advice.

I have been paddling an old Probe 11 for about two years. I like it, but I need a boat that is going to help me advance into the realm of IV+, maybe even higher.

Given these criteria, what would you pick?

I need a boat that is not going to limit me as I paddle bigger water, possibly Class V. Let's just use the UY and the Colorado as examples. I will probably not be creeking very much.

I need a boat that will be durable as I learn. My Probe was forgiving in the sense that hitting or scraping a rock didn't mean that I needed to whip out the Legos.

I would like a boat that is easier to roll than the Probe.

I need a boat that doesn't completely suck on flatwater. In a little over a year, I am going to be traveling North America extensively, and paddling whatever catches my eye. If I see a nice river or lake without rapids, I still want to be able to paddle it.

I know that it is hard to find a boat that matches all those characteristics, but if you had to pick, what would you get? Detonator or Ocoee?

Thanks in advance!

Chris
Chris Loomis
Mr.DeadLegs
CBoats Addict

Post by Mr.DeadLegs »

Viper 11 Similar in design to the Ocoee, better build quality, (the bell Ocoees I have seen have pretty much sucked. Better all around boat than the Detonator. And a far better price than either of the others.
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to slide in sideways totally worn out, shouting "Holy large steaming pile of dog doo what a Ride" " Nolan Whitesell
jscottl67
CBoats Addict

Post by jscottl67 »