Removable saddle system

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Fleetwalker
C Boater

Removable saddle system

Post by Fleetwalker »

I have an OT Penobscot that I use in downriver races. Sometimes I race solo, sometimes tandem with a center flotation bag. I'd like to keep the boat flexible, since this is recreational racing.

In the past, when I've raced solo I've paddled the boat kneeling - no saddle, no kneepads, nothing. I recognize that this is inefficient (and on longer races painful).

I'm thinking about the following plan: Get a neoprene foam pad, and glue a saddle, kneepads, and foot-blocks to the pad. Then I can put the whole pad-system in the boat as needed. I think neoprene is supposed to be "grippy" even when wet, but I'll secure it either by velcro strips, or using nylon webbing running from the flotation bag tie downs in the bow and stern (i.e., webbing from the stern, through a hole in the back of the pad, under the pad, through a hole in the front of the pad, to the bow).

Has anyone done this? Any thoughts on the merits of the idea?
Mike W.
CBoats.net Staff

Post by Mike W. »

How about a kneeling thwart? Use wing-nuts so you can take it out quickly. Glue your knee pads & toe blocks in & leave 'em.
sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by sbroam »

I've thought about this, too, for flat water / occasional whitewater use of certain of our boats. I don't think neoprene alone is strong enough to keep all of that together - I was thinking a thin piece of ABS with something grippy on the bottom - neoprene might be a bit thick, maybe "scoot guard"?