2x4 instruction method?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Shep
CBoats Addict

2x4 instruction method?

Post by Shep »

I've noticed a couple of references to the 2x4 instructional method recently. As an instructor, I'm always looking for new perspectives on effective teaching. Can someone describe the 2x4 method to me?

Thanks,
Shep
marclamenace
CBoats Addict

Post by marclamenace »

Andrew Westwood is the father of the 2x4 technique concept: Carole posted something on here a while back but when I go on their site myself I can't seem to find the 2x4 article anymore...

http://www.cboats.net/cforum/viewtopic.php?t=7959933

Used to be there for sure.

Basically the idea is that by mastering the two strokes (onside and offside forward) you can steer your canoe on any side you want or go straight by playing with the 4 parameters: boat tilt, stroke lenght, stroke rate and shaft angle.

Definitely a great way to put the cab forward steering down in words for newbies.
Watch out; that river has rocks on the bottom. :o
Shep
CBoats Addict

Post by Shep »

Cool. that's a good start. It's definitely interesting to see ideas get invented in the slalom world and then slowly work their way into the river-running world. (Thinking of the Duffek, and my understanding of "Cab Forward" paddling) I would be more interested in hearing people's opinions on what the 2x4 method is in detail, and what "Cab Forward" means to people in terms of both technique and how that connects to hull design.

Thanks,
Shep
Lappie
C Guru

Post by Lappie »

Trevor(Yukon), showed me a bit of it at the pool a wile back, it is sure look interesting and I'm sure it is realy efective for short boats. Mybe we should ask Paul to put a little video of the technique on paddlepointers.

As for cab fowerd, I always thought that it refer to the position of the paddler in a fishform hull like the spark, inferno etc.