what's the best oil for new gunwales? Teak? Tung? Also

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

roaring-riverman
C Boater

what's the best oil for new gunwales? Teak? Tung? Also

Post by roaring-riverman »

looking for best way to treat them before installing. I remember someone posting something somewhere about using a pvc pipe and putting wood and oil inside and sealing it. Sounds interesting. Should they be thoroughly soaked, then wiped dry? I have lots of experience with Watco Danish oil for interior wood projects and have flooded the wood, waited a half hr or so, then wiped dry. Waited 24 hrs and repeated. Then the same thing again. Would this be the same?
djutzi
C Guru

tung

Post by djutzi »

I've been advised in the past that tung oil is the way to go.

Do a bunch of coats, 5+. Put it on with a rag, let it dry for 15 minutes, than rub it in with your bare hand, warming the wood up a bit in the process.

Not sure about the PVC pipe method, but imagine it wouldn't hurt.
DougB
CBoats Addict

Post by DougB »

I've tried a variety of combinations but my experience is that double boiled linseed oil cut with varsol at about a 60/40 ratio works best. For initial treatment apply 3 coats with a rag and reapply a coat at the start/end of each season
horizongfx
CBoats Addict

Watco.....

Post by horizongfx »

It's what all the Kewl Kids are using these days
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/200559 ... Quart.aspxImage
[/b]
For me; boating brings me closer to to something divine, and in a open canoe I'm 8 Inches closer.
...........O
......(___|/____)
............/.............
kaz
Millbrook Boats - CBoats.net Sponsor

Post by kaz »

Try scrolling down several threads. It's been discussed before.

JKaz
Al Donaldson
Pain Boater

Tung Oil and Tung Oil "Blends"

Post by Al Donaldson »

Folks:

I stayed out of the discussion last time, but, since it has come up again: