not only a combat roll, but a really "gnarlz" one

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

insolence
CBoats Addict

not only a combat roll, but a really "gnarlz" one

Post by insolence »

I have a reliable combat roll. The chances are 99% that it works. With currently more than 300 days a year paddling, this still means about 3 swims a year. One of them can be equipment fail, when knee straps or paddle breaks

and one or two times a year, it happens, that I get messed up and smashed around in a stopper or twirl or similar violently turbulent currents - and totally loose orientation, don't know whats up and whats down and don't find where to put pressure on the blade to get back up

while this is no issue in training, I don't want this to happen on a class 4 - 5 river with a sieve next to me

what can i do to get rid of this problem? how can i improve an actually reliable roll, how make it faster or safer? what can I do to maintain control even under water? any ideas?
it's gettin hot
I MAKE THE WATER BURN
purple orange flames
blaze where I put my paddle
TNbound
CBoats Addict

Post by TNbound »

The best way to get more comfortable in getting throttled in a hole, is (you guessed it) spend some quality time getting a friendly beatdown from a big SAFE hole. Not some kind of killer hydraulic that is never going to spit you out or feed you into an undercut, but something just big enough to put you a little on edge. Jump right into it and go for a side surf. If you suck at surfing as much as I do, you will soon be doing roll practice!