Rediscovering The Finkenmeister

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Bruce Farrenkopf
CBoats Addict

Rediscovering The Finkenmeister

Post by Bruce Farrenkopf »

I've been paddling a converted Pyranha H3 255 for several years and definitely like the boat. Recently I had the H3 on the Farad section of the Truckee River - a class 3+ run with one 4 at the level we ran it (2000 cfs). This section of the Truckee also has two fun but bumpy 15 ft dams to run which mandate a plastic boat.

Point 1: The H3 felt like a cork on that pushy run. It is SLOW, doesn't surf and got pushed around in the bigger water. I was thinking "I wish I had my old Dagger Atom" - then it came to me :o ....get back into your Finkenmeister - the boat that has been on the back shelf in my garage for 3 years - and try it on this run.

I can hear a few groans out there :wink: .

I paddled der Finkenmeister on the Farad run and it turned out to be a MUCH better boat than the H3 for this type of class 3+ run. It was considerably FASTER and SURFS and was much more fun to paddle. It didn't feel like a cork.

Point 2: I now have a great boat for moderate water that I can bang around on rocks and dams. The right boat for the right application makes a world of difference.

I seem to be saying the obvious, but rediscovering the Fink has made boating more interesting for me. Get into that garage, dig out an old boat and give it a another try. You might be surprised :D !

SYOTRiver,

Bruce Farrenkopf
Sir Adam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by Sir Adam »

I picked up a fink this spring, and finally hopped in it the other day to see if I could roll it (having read they are a bit tough). Stock outfitting, though beaver tails not bolted in.