Galasport Canoes

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

gumpy
C Maven

Galasport Canoes

Post by gumpy »

looking at their website, they advertise 5 c1 models-all virtually the same length/width, all at the same price, each touted as fast, stable, etc. anybody here familiar with these boats & their differences/strengths/weaknesses?

http://www.galasportusa.com/commerce/in ... Path=35_38
Joe
the great gonzo
Paddling Benefactor

Post by the great gonzo »

I am by no means an expert in slalom boats, but as far as I know the Makao was designed by Tony Estanguyet for his paddlig style, with the Yin and finally the 64 being evolutions of it, the 64 being the most recent design. They all have a maximum weight of about 165 lbs.
The Scorcho was designed by Robin Bell and is designed for larger paddles, ~180 lbs and up.
The TT Syphon looks quite different, very high rocker compared to the others.

TGG!
Everyone must believe in something. I believe I'll go canoeing - Henry David Thoreau
TheKrikkitWars
CBoats.net Staff

Post by TheKrikkitWars »

With slalom boats having a minimum lenght and width requrement, the fact that they're all the same length and width should be pretty easily explained, the differences come in with:
  • Hull profile (how flat or rounded, with flat being common for canoes and rounded for kayaks)
  • Rocker (a comparitively recent introduction into slalom design)
  • Wings (to decrease waterline width whilst maintaining the minimum width requirement)
  • Volume distribution (less in the tail is easier to dip-turn and "neck gates" with; putting volume directly behind the paddler increases the momentum gained back after the dip, more volume up front prevents the boat being subbed out in stoppers and losing speed but increases the likelyhood of touching a pole with your boat)