Time for as new boat and I have questions..

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

mapturbator
c

Time for as new boat and I have questions..

Post by mapturbator »

I've been running whitewater for the last five years or so in N. Ca in an Encore blessedly bestowed upon me by a nice tandem couple that didn't want to read about me and my Grumman in the local newspaper.

There is not many open boaters up that way that want to push the envelope so I've kinda learned in a vaccum. I am very comfortable in my Encore running class III medium to big water and was pushing class IV following some kayaking buddies when I was temporarily furlouged to Northern Wisconsin.

I have noticed that my Encore is a bit of an aircraft carrier by comparison to all these Ledge's and Ocoees here in WI. Even before I moved to WI I'd realized it was time for an upgrade. I'd like to invest in a smaller boat and could use some advice.

I took a trip back to Ca for the Cal salmon race and got to paddle a Nitro for a couple of days and liked it. It was a breeze to roll and ferryed like a rocketship with those sharp chines. It took on much less water than the Encore and was much easier to maneuver when I did get swamped. I understand Esquif makes a smaller version, the Detenator. I see mixed reviews on here concerning those.

I also got to try a few rolls in a L'edge and missed every one. I have no trouble rolling my Encore to the left and the Nitro to either side. I've read that the L'edge is super easy to roll. Not sure what I was doing wrong. (I had a hades of a time wedging myself into all that foam)