twist and crawl

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

hazardharry
CBoats Addict

twist and crawl

Post by hazardharry »

its been a long season with lots of pain. it seems the worst pains are in the hips and lower legs/ankles. being well over 6' with clown sized feet i tend to hurt the lower half more than my noggin. i installed a saddle for getting in and out of the canoe. but the rear thwart still gets my foot tangled now and then. i do not have toe blocks or ankle blocks. just can't sleep well anymore. i was hoping to condition away these pains but the leg is killing me! :cry: has anyone been through this or going though it? or just living though the pain for the love of the sport? i am new to sitting in the saddle.
if its a flowin' i'm a goin' if its frozen i'm a dozin'
DougB
CBoats Addict

Re: twist and crawl

Post by DougB »

You should play with your outfitting. Most saddles are 8" wide by 8" tall. I last about 5 minutes in one of these. I modify mine to be 9" tall and 9" wide when possible and also install ankle blocks. These small modifications allow me to sit all day. I'm also tall, with size 13's and have zero flexibility to boot. You can find a way to make it comfortable.
thomsonbytheriver
Pain Boater

Post by thomsonbytheriver »