open and closed designs...history?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

foggnm

open and closed designs...history?

Post by foggnm »

I'm new to canoeing and started off with a river canoe last year and have slowly been developing some whitewater skills. I'm about to purchase another boat that is more ww specific and this forum has been very helpful in looking at various options (so thanks everyone!). In looking through various canoe designs and watching a lot of youtube videos, I started to wonder why more people do open canoeing in whitewater than closed? It seems closed canoes were more slalom/racing and have a little lower seating position and less volume than an open ww canoe. But racing aside, why do more recreational ww canoeist choose an open boat over a closed one? And in general, how do their designs (for whitewater river running) overlap and differ?
Randy Dodson
C Guru

Re: open and closed designs...history?

Post by Randy Dodson »

I'm sure the reasons are varied, but many people started paddling rivers in an open canoe, (boy scouts, summer camp, rental canoe with Mom & Dad) so it just seems natural to stay in an open boat even when they progress into more serious WW. Some Like open boats because they're more comfortable than a decked boat. Some like myself, think that an open canoe is the most beautiful creation man has ever invented and even though we sometimes paddle open canoes that look nothing like an old Prospector, we still hold to those roots. And of course, some simply want to be able to carry more beer.

I'm sure others will add many more reasons.

There is a kind of purist logic that goes into paddling an open canoe. It's a little harder, but the challenge makes it very rewarding.

Although I prefer open canoes, it doesn't really matter whether it's open or decked. The beauty is in the single bladed paddle.