adjustable toe blocks from Northwater

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

rainfoot
Pain Boater

adjustable toe blocks from Northwater

Post by rainfoot »

http://northwater.com/html/products/can ... locks.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I saw these in a Dagger Ocoee on the Noli last weekend. Seemed rather handy. My feet are terribly uncomfortable when applied to the Yakima pegs and it looks like this would allow my feet to remain flat to the floor while still keeping me in tight.

Has anyone had experience with these?
Will they adhere to a PE boat? [if so, how?]
Is there increased risk of entrapment?
OC1 spoken here.
bruce
C Boater

Re: adjustable toe blocks from Northwater

Post by bruce »

I have been using a similar type from Dagger for more then 20 years in 3 different boats, both ABS and Kevlar composite. Very comfortable especially with ankle blocks. I've always used Stabond
& even under constant stress while paddling they have never loosened.
sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by sbroam »

Adhering to PE while surviving tension stresses has always been a challenge - but this would be mainly in shear, so, maybe contact cement (especially with the large area involved) would work? Might try Goop, too - following the contact cement instructions (on package) - i've had that adhere well to PE (making nose cone type reinforcement).
Paddle Power
C Maven

Post by Paddle Power »

I've been using Northwater's adjustable toe blocks for years in my Viper (OC1).

I like them much more so than the Yakima pegs.
Brian
http://www.JohnstonPursuits.ca" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
pblanc
CBoats Addict

Post by pblanc »