Slalom C1 for heavy paddler & relative beginner (in slalom)?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

JimW
C Guru

Slalom C1 for heavy paddler & relative beginner (in slalom)?

Post by JimW »

As per the title, I'm really looking for reccommendations for slalom C1's suitable for a heavier paddler.

I'm currently around 112kg (246lbs) although I will soon be back to 105 and maybe less (230lbs) so ideally I'm looking for a boat which can be cut for 105kg/230lbs, which seems to rule out a lot right away.

I'm classing myself as a relative beginner because although I have been messing about with C1s on and off for around 20 years and I am pretty confident in OC1 now, whenever I get in a slalom C1 I feel like a complete noob. A big part of that is probably because I have never had access to one suitable for my weight, although I do now have access to one a lot closer than before. I am therefore looking for something that doesn't require the skills of a world champion to get along with....

My research so far has indicated the Nomad/Jem Tesla (UK built boat) which is apparently pretty stable compared to some but can stall a bit in pivots as a result. I still need to find out exactly who if anyone is making them now, Nomad don't list it and I'm told the designer moved to Jem but their website lists nothing, and see what upper weight it can cope with.

Galasport El Scorcho looks to be available in big enough size but I have no info on the handling?

Most of the C1 paddlers I know seem to paddle Vajda boats - some I have been advised are too twitchy for beginners, and their website doesn't really list upper weight limits - most of the larger sizes just say 85kg+, well 105kg is a lot of +.....