what is the best Boat for a 4'8" , 100# beginner ?

New to CBoating? Look here for loaner boats, demo boats, free boats, instruction, and other folks in your area to help you out. Do NOT post questions here - those should be posted in the main CForum.

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

gigglescboat
c

what is the best Boat for a 4'8" , 100# beginner ?

Post by gigglescboat »

I have been kayaking for past 10 years, but want to begin canoeing.
I have already converted my EVO to a C1 and like it, but want a canoe.

What is the best choice for my height and weight?

I am looking at the L edge.

Are there any " kids canoes" out there?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Sejal
Last edited by gigglescboat on Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mike W.
CBoats.net Staff

Re: what is the best Boat for a 4'8" , 100# beginner ?

Post by Mike W. »

You may want to try a Splash. It's a composite canoe for kids.

http://cboats.net/c_db/list.php?alpha=S ... ame=Splash" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.compositecreations.ca/Splash.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Sir Adam is the only one I know of who has one of these boats. He's up in New York, but comes down to the Armada every year.
Paddle Power
C Maven

Post by Paddle Power »

The L edge is a great boat, but it is heavy and relative to your weight, a lot boat to move.
I'd look for a lighter option. Look for non plastic.
Brian
http://www.JohnstonPursuits.ca" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
KNeal
CBoats.net Staff

Post by KNeal »